The “I Messed Up” Book Tag

tag photo1.jpg

No one tagged but but ya know what, this looked fun and I do what I want 😀

A character’s appearance you misread or imagined differently.

There must be more, but the one that comes to mind is Peeves the Poltergeist from Harry Potter. I pictured him as like, a ghost under a blanket before I realized that he looked like a little man. I think there’s chapter art of him in Sorcerer’s Stone and that’s what set me right.

A character name you’ve been pronouncing differently.

When I first read Harry Potter I pronounced Hermione as Harmony and Ginny with a hard g, but hey I was nine years old. I could never remember how to pronounce Gaea when reading the Heros of Olympus series, and I’m sure there’s loads more other Greek and Roman gods’ names I butchered. And pretty much any fantasy book with obscure names.

An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure.

Enemies to lovers. A burning passion of hate turned to burning passion of love is what I’M ABOUT.

A cliché character type that you like better on screen than reading about.

Hmmmmm I dunno. I just enjoy reading more than watching in general, so I don’t think there’s any kind of character I’d rather watch.

A word/phrase you learned because of its use in a book.

I learned that “flat” meant apartment in Harry Potter. There’s a lot of other British vocab I learned from Harry Potter, but I don’t know why I always specifically think of it when I hear the word flat.

Have you ever not read or completed a required-reading book for school?

L O L. As a former English/History major I probably fully read only about a third of what was required of me. I went insane trying to read the entirety of Uncle Tom’s Cabin in my sophomore year of college, and by senior year I got an A on an essay of a play I didn’t read at all. When you have to read 1,000 pages of novels and textbooks a week, skimming and using Sparknotes becomes an art. And just paying attention to what people say in class 😉

Have you ever skipped (or wanted to) a chapter from the point of view of a character you weren’t interested in?

Jason’s POVs in the Heroes of Olympus books. Every time I turned the page and discovered a chapter headed with “JASON” I’d die a little inside. I never actually skipped them, but reading Jason’s POV was like reading from a foot’s POV except a foot’s POV would probably be more interesting. As long as it’s not Jason’s foot.

Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?

I was going to say probably, but you know what, I don’t think so. I’ve probably been tempted to, but I try really hard to stick to plans.


I hope these answers were somewhat entertaining! I tag YOU!!!

♥,
Steph

Leave a Reply

