Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

 

img_8695-2

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater (The Raven Cycle #3) / My rating: ★★★★★

One sentence summary: Blue and the Raven boys explore caves on their quest to find Glendower, dream up murders, wake up dreams, and discover three sleepers; one to be woken, one who must not, and one in between.

“Blue,” he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey.

She said, “I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could.”

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy/Paranormal

Plot: I loved it. After the first book I was left with high expectations for the second, and after loving the second one, I was left with wildly high expectations for Blue Lily, Lily Blue, and Maggie Stiefvater didn’t let me down. While the last book, The Dream Thieves, was thrill and chaos and things falling apart, this book began the upward motion of things coming together. It felt slower than the previous two, but this book was much heavier in quiet scenes between characters than in action, which leads me to define this book as more character than plot, but the plot certainly does not lack. This book felt spookier than the first two, more comfortable in its mystical elements. I felt it set up for the final book wonderfully, solving some key mysteries and, as always, introducing  others, and left off at a great cliffhanger.

Characters: (spoiler alert) This was Blue’s book, and I loved reading her as she came to learn the full potential of her abilities and the intrinsic part she has the quest with the Raven boys to find Glendower. Blue is feisty, and she is kind and she is smart, and this book only made me love her more – and revel in the pain of her “forbidden” romance with Gansey. This book was also everything I wanted for Adam Parrish. He is my favorite, but he’s not an easy favorite to have. I just want him to BE HAPPY, but “Adam was so used to the right way being painful that he doubted any path that didn’t come with agony.” This book marked his departure from that state of mind, from his self-preserving nature and his pride. Particularly, I loved the development of his relationship with Ronan; the team they make, the bonds with Cabeswater they share, and the potential romance buzzing quietly beneath it all. As for Gansey, this book was quiet for him- mostly I felt as if he was in the background. Gansey is the unknowable one, and spends time  on a “cagey school project” that the reader has no insight on. Since this book focused so heavily on Blue and Adam, I didn’t mind being in the dark about Gansey so much, and I expect I’ll learn all their is to know about him in the final book. And I can’t ignore Henry Cheng, a new Raven boy who popped up at random intervals throughout the book and never seemed to contribute anything particularly important, but since nothing in these books is coincidental, I have to believe we’ll learn more about him in the next book. Also, Jesse Dittley was a DELIGHT, and I will never forgive Piper.

Writing: As always, I love love love Stiefvater’s writing, and her ability to evoke silence and chaos and atmosphere. I could go on, but I think I’ve done that in my previous reviews of The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves.

Was I satisfied? Yes!!! I was unsure, before I reached the end of the book, if this book would satisfy me as much as the first two – particularly The Dream Thieves – but you know what? Stiefvater gave me some of that action and revaluation I was craving and IT DID.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

