Book Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli


Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli / My rating: ★★★★★

One sentence summary: Simon Spier exchanges anonymous emails with another closeted gay boy in his high school, “Blue” – and risks both of their secrets when his email is seen by the wrong set of eyes.

The way I feel about him is like a heartbeat – soft and persistent, underlying everything. 

Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary

Plot: Okay, this book is FREAKIN’ ADORABLE. I’m really not sure how to sum it up any other way. It was light and funny and sweet. It dealt wonderfully with the angst of social problems and school problems and family problems, and was engaging from the start. I read the entire book in one afternoon and not once did I feel like putting it down. It’s a story that makes me feel gooey and gushy, and I may go so far as to say it’s the cutest book I’ve read this year. If you want something sweet and romantic and feel-good, this book is perfect.

Characters: Like the book itself, Simon is cute and witty, and it didn’t take long to love him. Blue, however, has to be my favorite, and the way his and Simon’s interactions came together was so lovely and wonderful and full of just the right amount of anticipation. Albertalli did a great job of writing a cast of high schoolers who were all engaging in their own distinct ways, and I loved Simon’s friendships and altercations with them.

Writing: The writing is lovely. The book is told from the first person point of view of Simon, and I felt completely immersed in his voice. It was witty and gentle and cute.

Was I satisfied? Yes!!! I loved this book. It left me feeling happy. It’s a book I know I’ll definitely reread.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

  1. Pingback: 2017 Resolutions / December Reads | lost: purple quill

Leave a Reply

