This or That Book Tag

This or That.png

Thanks so much Hadeer @ hadeerwrites for nominating me for this tag! Go check out her blog, she’s really nice and writes really great and articulate book reviews!

Rules:

  • Mention the creator of the tag (Ayunda @ Tea and Paperbacks)
  • Thank the blogger who tagged you.
  • Choose one of the options, you don’t have to tell the reasons why you chose that but you can also do them if you want to.
  • Tag other people to do this tag to spread the love!

This or That?

Reading on the couch or on the bed?
Couch during daytime hours because there’s more sunlight in my living room, and bed at night (because I’ll inevitably stay up too late reading and I don’t have to drag myself to bed if I’m already there).

Male main character or female main character?
A main character can be any gender under the sun as long as they have an interesting personality and a good story to tell. I’m generally attracted to personality types more than genders.

Sweet snacks or salty snacks?
Sweeeet.

Trilogies or quartets?
My impulse is to say however many books it takes to tell the story, but when I really think about it, I think I choose a quartet. I like having two books in the middle, and it gives me more buildup to the final book. And if I’m loving the series, I like getting more time to spend with the characters!

First person POV or third POV?
Third! I’m picky about first person narratives. A lot of the time the way a character’s voice is written can irritate me, even if I enjoy the book. Not that I hate first person, a lot of my favorite books are written in it, but I’ll always prefer third.

Reading at night or in the morning?
Night! I love staying up late or even all night reading a really good book. I think there’s also something about night that makes me feel free, like I don’t have other responsibilities I need to take care of that might nudge at me in the light of day. Morning is when I have to face what needs to get done for the day, unless perhaps it’s a weekend.

Libraries or bookstores?
I love bookstores. I love new books and how bookstores smell and the cafes inside them and I just like browsing brand new shiny books. Which isn’t to say I don’t enjoy a good library! My local one just doesn’t have that…ideal bookish aura I like to hang out in. But I have been in a lot of really nice ones, and will definitely always support them!

Books that make you laugh or books that make you cry?
Get me a book that can do both. (Actually, a lot of my favorite books do. City of Thieves by David Benioff comes to mind). However, whether I cry or not, if a book really pains me, it’s more likely to enter my heart forever than a book that resides decidedly on the lighthearted side.

Black book covers or white covers?
Hmmm, honestly I don’t think it matters, as long as the cover art is nice?

Character driven or plot driven?
Character! I’m all about connecting to characters and character dynamics and character relationships. If a book has an amazing plot and I’m not into the characters, I’m less likely to enjoy it, but good characters can make up for a subpar plot for me.  If I’m crazy about the characters, it’s likely I’ll be crazy about the book even if the plot is less than amazing (The Foxhole Court series is a good example of this, and The Raven Cycle, to a degree).

I feel like I’ve seen this tag going around a lot lately, so if you haven’t done it and you’d like to, please take this as a tag from me! Just link me back so I can see all your answers! ❤

11 thoughts on “This or That Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Unique Blogger Award – pace, amore, libri

  2. Pingback: May Recap | Lost: Purple Quill

  3. Thank you for doing my tag ❤ Come to think of it, I don't think I've ever read a book that makes me laugh out loud so much but also makes me cry… But I personally think a book that can make me cry is a book worth recommending.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

