Book Review: Feel Me Fall by James Morris

34744383.jpg

Feel Me Fall by James Morris ★★★☆☆

Summary: Emily Duran is the lone survivor of a plane crash that left her and her friends stranded in the Amazon. As they fight for their lives, their histories catch up with them and they find themselves not only in battle with the jungle, but each other.

I had one thought over and over: I don’t want to die. Someone else, but not me.

I held onto that seat cushion for dear life and plunged into the rapids. I was a human rag doll. The torrent sucked me into a watery hell and I couldn’t breathe; my eyes shut, mouth shut, face tight against the murk, willing everything to stop. I couldn’t breathe. I started to panic.

Someone else, but not me.

Genre: Young Adult/Thriller

Plot

Feel Me Fall was rather Lord of the Flies: High School Edition. From the beginning it had me wondering, if Emily is the sole survivor of this plane crash, what happened to the rest of her friends? This was an easy, fast-paced read that hooked me right away, but while I was very intrigued by the concept and flew through it, I felt that it could have used more character development. The plot on its own was strong, it never slowed and I liked the way it flipped back and forth between different periods of time: the present, the jungle, and before the crash. These alternating time periods kept the plot moving along quickly and it was easy to fly through, never lingering long in one place. This book was definitely entertaining, and I loved the element of deception it had, and the overall statement it made.

I do think it could have benefited from spending more time on character. Particularly, the plot felt weak where it relied on character history. I didn’t feel as if the history between characters had been built up quite properly enough, and when a turning point relied on it, it didn’t seem like it was substantial enough to hold up the plot point. I wanted more tension, and I think if more had been revealed sooner in the book, rather than later, I would have felt it. A lot of high school drama was brought into the jungle, and I didn’t feel that the dire situation they were in supported it.

BUT, perhaps this book would be more realistic to a teenager? Or more entertaining. As an adult, sometimes I need to take a step back from the YA genre and put it into perspective. However I do think that a lot of the drama between the teenagers could have held more weight if the appropriate tension had been built. A lot of the actions taken by characters felt over the top, and the ways their emotions toward one another flip-flopped felt too extreme. I needed more grief from these characters.

Overall this was an entertaining, speedy read. It’s what I like to call a “airport read.” If you find yourself with a few hours to kill on a layover, this is a quick book that’ll help move the time along quickly.

Characters

This novel did a great job of playing with my emotions toward its characters- one chapter I felt majorly sympathetic, and the next chapter I really wouldn’t mind if they kicked the bucket. Emily’s narration achieved this all fantastically. This book was all about revealing uncomfortable truths about its characters.

But like I said, the major grievance I have with this book is that the characters just didn’t feel developed enough. I wanted a better grasp of them. A lot of their development felt very surface level, too fast, and it made their actions weigh less on me and feel petty when they shouldn’t have. I needed more build-up, more knowledge.

The romance, however….hmm. I wasn’t quite sure what to make of it, other than that it showed that even the “smartest” of us aren’t entirely smart. I didn’t like it, but then again I don’t think you’re supposed to. I even hesitate to call it romance because it did not feel romantic to me. Like I said, this book was all about revealing uncomfortable truths.

Writing

This book’s prose was written very well. It was smooth, descriptive, and easy to read. Like I said, this book moved quickly, and the writing style had everything to do with it.

Was I satisfied?

This was an quick, intriguing read, and I really liked the overall statement it made. However I felt it could have been much more developed, character-wise, and that’s really where it fell short for me.

Thanks to James Morris for contacting me in exchange for an honest review. 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Feel Me Fall by James Morris

  1. I love the term “airport read” – What a great way to sum up those quick books that don’t require a lot of deep thought! And I know what you mean about reading YA as an adult. As much as I often enjoy the genre, there are times when I have to step back and consider that something may be more applicable or relevant to a teenager than it is to me. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! Yeah, YA can be tricky sometimes, especially when a book deals with more issues on the high school side rather than say, saving the world from evil. I like to be critical but I definitely don’t want a teenager to read my review and think I’m belittling teenage problems!

      Like

Leave a Reply

