The Sunshine Blogger Award

sunshine.png

It’s tag Friday! I was nominated for this award by both Read by Chris and Bridget & Books like 4000 years ago, so I thought I’d answer both of their questions in one post! They are both lovely and have fantastic and insightful blogs, so please check them out!

RULES

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write then 11 new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

Christen’s Questions!

1. Who is your favorite author?

Is it weird that I don’t have one? I have many favorites…but I cannot choose just one.

2. Which fictional world would you most like to live in?

Harry Potter ❤

3. Which fictional world would you least like to live in?

My mind always goes to The Hunger Games when considering this question. I would exist in a constant state of stress.

4. When and why did you start blogging?

I started this blog around the end of 2015 I think? It was supposed to be a writing blog for my poems and stories and whatnot because I wanted to jump start my love of writing again after college, which had wiped me out. BUT it didn’t really work and I ended up abandoning it for like 6 months. Then last summer I really got into reading again (which college had also wiped out of me), and I read The Raven Cycle and needed to talk about it somewhere so I rebooted this blog in September and turned it into a book blog instead. So, thanks Raven Cycle ❤

5. What’s your favorite book, and why is it your favorite?

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. It’s the most comfortable place. Harry Potter is probably a personality trait by now.

6. Fantasy or Science Fiction?

Fantasy!

7. Give your favorite book character a theme song.

Favorite book character: Adam Parrish from the Raven Cycle. Favorite music: Pop music. I feel like these two don’t go so well, but I once saw someone somewhere attribute this mashup to him (and Ronan) and I’m 100% into it.

 

8. Give your least favorite book character a theme song.

I honestly can’t think of a least favorite book character. I also don’t think my music taste lends well to characters I hate anyway. Clearly I’m not edgy at all.

9. What’s your favorite book quote?

Again I don’t think I have just one? Usually it’s something from a book I’ve read recently, so right now I’d say it’s this quote from A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara:

“He was letting me pretend this: all the dangerous things he could have done, all the ways he could have broken my heart, were in the past, the stuff of stories, that the time that lay behind us was scary, but the time that lay ahead of us was not.” 

10. Why do you like to read?

CHARACTERS. Fun. Words and good writing. Experiencing things through books I’ll never experience myself. Imagination. Pain.

11. What are you currently reading?

Silence by Shūsaku Endō. I was aimlessly walking through the bookstore after finishing A Little Life and unsure I would ever be able to read anything ever again, but this book caught my eye.

Bridget’s questions!

1. What was the most recent book you finished?

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. I’ve only tentatively started reading the book above because I’m still hung up on it. I’ll never recover.

2. If you could have one author sign something for you, who would it be and why?

I’d love Maggie Stiefvater to sign my super tattered copy of The Dream Thieves because not only is it my favorite Raven Cycle book, but I’ve lent it out to a few different people which is half the reason it’s so tattered, and so it feels so well read and loved. Orrr J.K. Rowling signing my copy of PoA.

3. Who is the character you hate most?

Again, I don’t think I have a character I hate most, even though I can think of a lot of evil jerks. So I’m just going to swerve to the left here and say Ron Weasley’s character from The Cursed Child. A DISGRACE.

4. What is your favorite quote?

Since I answered this with my most recent favorite quote above, I’ll answer this one with a quote I think about often from the book Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis.

When the time comes to you at which you will be forced at last to utter the speech which has lain at the center of your soul for years, which you have, all that time, idiot-like, been saying over and over, you’ll not talk about the joy of words. I saw well why the gods do not speak to us openly, nor let us answer. Till that word can be dug out of us, why should they hear the babble that we think we mean? How can they meet us face to face till we have faces?

5. What is the oldest book you own that you still have not read yet?

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte and East of Eden by John Steinbeck. I got both of these books for a Christmas ages and ages ago.

6. Who do you want to write your biography?

Hmmmmm Neil Gaiman. He’d definitely add a mystical tone to my life and take advantage of the stranger moments. I also think he’d be good at keeping it fairly concise, which I would appreciate.

7. What is your favorite season to read?

There’s something particularly cozy about reading in the fall.

8. What is a book you despise, but everyone loves?

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas….

9. Which book do you always recommend to friends?

Re: my tattered Dream Thieves book

The Raven Cycle.

10. What does it take for a book cover to attract your eye?

Pretty/bold typography. Pretty colors. Artsy but clean look. No images of real people.

11. Do you associate any scents to a book? What is it and why?

Early, crisp, cool summer morning air always makes me think of The Raven Boys because I sat out on my back deck reading it in that kind of weather last year. Have I talked enough about The Raven Cycle enough in this post?


 

I’ve been sitting here trying to think of some new questions but my brain is just not having it. It’s been a long week. So if you’d like to answer any of the questions above, please take a stab at it and tag the askers! They’re fantastic questions.

Have a great weekend!! ❤

8 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. I didn’t know that The Raven Cycle is responsible for your blog rebooting! I love The Raven Cycle so much. I think that should be the next YA we get Rachel to read…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol yup!!! I believe the first book review I posted on here was The Raven Boys. The Raven Cycle is one of my favorite series ever. I was actually just talking to Rachel about TRC yesterday, and I think I sold her on it with my talk of flawed characters 😉 Adam and Ronan are my ultimate faves.

      Like

      • Well done! 😉 SAME. Both as individuals and together! I happy cried at the courtroom scene, and I actually made high pitched squealing noises at certain moments in the last book. I’m so excited about the prospect of more Adam and Ronan!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Their relationship was so well done, that, and their character arcs, were my favorite parts of those books. I loved how it took them forever over the course of the first three books to grow their relationship, and then how book 4 was SO SATISFYING. I’m nervous for the new books because that means more PAIN, but also more happiness, and I felt like there had to be more to Ronan’s story by the end of TRC anyway!

        Like

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up! | Lost: Purple Quill

  3. Pingback: July Wrap Up | Lost: Purple Quill

Leave a Reply

