Top 5 Tuesday: Book Worlds I Want to Live In

TOP 5 FALL.png

Top 5 Tuesday is a meme by the fantastic Bionic Book Worm, and it explores a different bookish topic each week. If you’d like to join in on the fun, check out the Top 5 Tuesday August topics! 

Okay, this was a lot harder than I expected. I think I need to read more fantasy books that are set in happier places. However, now that I’ve got all my choices laid out, I think they all represent rather different parts of me, interestingly enough.

224926

The Wizarding World from Harry Potter
(The child in me)

I mean……Hogwarts is already my home, so. It’s warm and familiar and magical. Also, fun fact, I’ve always pictured Ron’s house to look like my own childhood best friend’s house, which adds another layer of familiarity and nostalgia ❤

17378508.jpg

Cabeswater from The Raven Cycle
(The introvert in me)

I don’t think I’d want to live in Cabeswater, but I’d want to live near it (probably at the Barnes. This one should be about the Barnes but I want to talk about Cabeswater) so I could hang out there, especially because of the whole time warpy thing. I’d love to while away hours there knowing that I’d wasted hardly any time at all when I came back out. It feels like the perfect place to escape when I’m exhausted from the world and people and real life and just want to be alone and read. Also it’s so atmospheric and beautiful and magical, I’d love to lay on the ground and just…look. So basically I want to live in the setting of The Raven Cycle and use Cabeswater as my hideaway.

22055262

Red London from the Shades of Magic series
(The explorer in me)

I’d love to explore Red London if I lived there, it’s so magical and lively and adventurous, and I love to explore by foot. I wouldn’t want to get into scuffles like Lila and Kell did there, but I’d love to see the festivities and lurk around quietly. I want to observe the action and try the food.

13206828

The Lunar Chronicles Universe
(The traveler in me)

If there’s no plague or evil queens, I’d love to live in the Lunar Chronicles universe and play around with their technology. Most of all, I’d love to board one of their ships and be on the other side of the world in no time. So I guess what I’m saying is I’d love to live on the Rampion. And travel the world. And be Cress. I want to be Cress. That’s what I’m trying to say.

29044

The Picturesque Secret History
(The Northerner in me)

Okay, hear me out, and maybe this is cheating because I already live in New England, but not in a place nearly as atmospheric. I love sleepy, chilly northern towns. I love foresty, autumnal college campuses full of old brick buildings. I love the setting of The Secret History, and while I do not want my life to be nearly as depressing or dramatic as the lives in this book, I’ve got a morbid longing for the picturesque, forgive me.


How do you feel about these places? What bookish worlds would you like to live in?

 

22 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday: Book Worlds I Want to Live In

  1. I want to live in The Lunar Chronicles Universe, too! I am a massive fan of the series PLUS I’ve always been attracted to the Moon. I was obsessed with it when I was growing up. Oh, and I am also a huge fan of Apollo 13 movie/book. That says something about me, doesn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Top 5 book worlds I want to live in! – Bionic Book Worm

  3. Oooh I was lamenting that I don’t like any of this month’s top 5 Wednesday prompts, I think I’ll jump ship and do some of these instead!

    I 100% want to live in The Secret History universe which is ridiculous because it’s practically set in my backyard. But still.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Please do!! Top 5 Tuesday has some fun ones this month.

      The Secret History has one of my favorite atmospheres of any book, I love vaguely spooky, autumnal academic settings lol. Even when you live where a place is set…there’s always something about how it’s written that makes it more or less appealing somehow??

      Liked by 1 person

      • Just posted this week’s!!! That was actually surprisingly easy given that I don’t read a lot of fantasy.

        Omg I know I’ve said it like eighty five times but you need to read If We Were Villains!!! The spooky autumnal academic setting is something ML Rio does so well. Arguably not as well as Donna Tartt, but still. I want to visit her fictional university so badly.

        Liked by 1 person

      • YES I really need to get on that. Since this the start of a new month and my book spending slate has been wiped clean I’m going to make that my book purchase for the month. I feel like it’s one I need to own. And I love the cover.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahahah ME TOO. I say the slat as been wiped clean but really that’s just a way to make myself feel less bad for spending a trillion more dollars on books if it doesn’t carry over from last month. I always try to budget but then….the budget is too small and the amount of books I want is too large, so I give up. It’s a terrible cycle, hahah. I tell myself I’m going to be better this month but…we’ll see. Maybe it can be a New Year’s resolution so I can have a few months to prepare.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! For real, Cress has one of the best happy endings ever. She gets to travel all over the world with her gorgeous and hilarious boyfriend. And also she’s super connected, world power-wise. AND she can basically do anything because she’s a genius.

      Haha YES I don’t want to get into any street brawls or chased by anyone or fight bad guys…I just want to walk the streets of Red London and mind my own business, lol.

      Like

  4. Oh my, I would soooo love to live inside the Harry Potter world. I’m still firmly convinced that somehow my letter was lost in the mail. Who needs sports when you have Quidditch???

    The letter’s coming soon, one day– I can feel it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

