The Liebster Award

liebester ward

It’s Friday, which means its time to get on my tags. Thanks Rachel for tagging me!! As always, please go check out her blog! She writes fantastic reviews.

1. Thank the person who nominated you and link their blog
2. Answer the 11 questions the person asked you –

(i)What’s your dream vacation?

A tour of all the world’s historical sites. All of them, every single one.


(ii) How do you take your coffee (or tea)?

English breakfast tea, two sugars and a tiny bit of milk. Pretty standard. I didn’t start really drinking tea until I had a friend in college who would make it for me like this, and since then I drink it almost daily.

(iii) What’s your favorite kind of blog post to make (e.g. book reviews, monthly wrap ups, Top 5 Wednesday/Top 10 Tuesday, etc)?

Book reviews! I love writing book reviews above all.

(iv) Have you met any of your internet friends in real life?

Nope! That might be fun, though.

(v) If you had to blog about something other than books, what would it be?

Hmmmmm. I think I’ll say photography. Except I probably wouldn’t write a whole lot, because one of the reasons I like photography is because I don’t have to use words. It’d probably be more of an aesthetic/visual blog.

(vi) What’s the best movie you’ve watched so far this year?

Ahhhhh honestly all I can think of is Ratatouille, which isn’t a new movie for me or anything, but I watched it a few months ago and it’s one of my favorites, so. I really haven’t watched many movies this year D:

(vii) Where’s the coolest place you’ve ever been?

The place that always comes to mind when people ask me this kind of question is Glendalough, Ireland. It’s the ruins of a medieval monastery in the Wicklow mountains of Ireland (my definition of “cool” I suppose) and it was so sunny and green and calm it felt almost surreal. I loved it. Here’s a picture:

8658084766_a3a74d9816_b.jpg

(viii) Do you name your car(s) and other inanimate objects?

I name my cameras, but that’s about it. I don’t know why just my cameras? Names on anything else I own never stick. My current camera’s name is Jeff. My friends refer to him as Jeff, too.

(ix) Which blog that you follow do you think is the most similar to yours?  In terms of, ‘if you like my blog, you should also follow ____.’

Hmmmmmm. I think Chelsea at Spotlight on Stories and I post similar content, especially book-wise: a mix of YA, adult, classics, fantasy and historical fiction genres. However she has the added bonus of reviewing stage performances! Go check out her blog!

(x) Favorite season?

Fall! I love the chilly weather and the colors.

(xi) Are there any genres that you refuse to read?

Harlequin romances come to mind. Is that a dated term? My mom uses it all the time and loves them, and there were so many around my house growing up. I never felt inclined to read any, though. That and like, Hallmark-y stuff.

3. Nominate 11 people (comment on their blog to let them know)

I’m gonna tag some newer pals I’ve made lately ❤ And as always anyone who wants to participate! No pressure, though!

Noriko / Delphine the Babbler / Talk Darcy to Me

4. Ask the people you have nominated 11 questions

  1. If you could only wear one color for the rest of your life, what would it be?
  2. What’s your favorite kind of weather?
  3. What is your ideal place to read?
  4. What’s your favorite candy?
  5. If you could bring a mythological creature to life, what would it be?
  6. If you could have dinner with an author, who would it be?
  7. If you could have dinner with a book character, who would it be?
  8. If you were famous for something, what would you like it to be?
  9. Do you have any pets?
  10. What is your favorite mode of transportation?
  11. What is your favorite book genre?

As always, have a great weekend, everyone!

22 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. That place in Ireland is so cool! I studied abroad in Ireland for three weeks and fell utterly in love. Never been to Glendalough, but it looks gorgeous. When were you in Ireland?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I visited when I studied abroad in England in 2013, and it was one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been! I was there for four days, and somehow they were four days of sunshine and everything was so green. Where did you study when you were there?

      Like

      • Our program wasn’t based in any one city, which is what made it awesome! We stayed for a week each in Galway, Kilkenny, and Dublin, but in Galway and Kilkenny we would take day trips to the surrounding areas, so we got to see so much of Ireland! It was honestly the best three weeks of my entire life. Everything is so old and green and beautiful and the food was delicious and the people were so nice! I absolutely loved it; I would go back in a heartbeat.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahhh that sounds so amazing. I love how old and green everything is there. And the food!! I know Ireland and the UK have the reputation of having bad food but I loved the food there, Ireland had such warm, wholesome meals that were so delicious in the colder weather. I’ve also visited Galway and I loved it there, it was so cute and pretty!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the Tag! Totally looking forward to posting this today 🙂
    I’m not much of a romance reader myself, too many mushy gushy clichés that I utterly refuse to endure *yucky*. OMG I sooo envy you. I’ve been wanting to go to Ireland (and Scotland) for so long. I’ve been living in the city (L.A.) all my life, and someplace quaint and actually green, without all the city smog would be a dream come true!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg it’s always so crazy to me when people haven’t met any internet friends irl… at last count I’d met 20! I have gotten super lucky with living in close proximity to most of my good online friends.

    That picture is STUNNING omg I’m jealous!! I need to go there!! And I love your dream vacation answer.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations for the nomination and thank you so much for nominating me! I really appreciate it.
    It might take a while to make a post on this, but I’ll definitely do it. Thank you so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ratatouille is one of my favourite movies ever. It tends to be one of those movies I watch when I really need a pick-me-up or to escape to a happy place for awhile. So underrated among Pixar movies imho.

    I was in Ireland for several weeks in 2009 and I completely agree, Glendalough is such a beautiful place, and I love the Wicklow Mountains!

    Aww thank you for the plug! ❤ I love your blog too, and we do seem read and enjoy a lot of the same kinds of books. It's so great to have friends with similar reading tastes, then I know if you (and Rachel for non-SFF stuff) read it, it's probably something I'll enjoy as well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahh yes that’s exactly how I feel about Ratatouille!! It’s also my “plane movie,” because it always seems to be available on planes whenever I’m traveling and I always watch it. It’s SO underrated.

      I would go back to the Wicklow Mountains in a heartbeat. I drove through them and wasn’t able to get any good pictures, but the way I remember them in my mind are so beautiful.

      I think the books I see on your blog and Rachel’s are the ones I add to my TBR the most! Especially since we all share a love of historical fiction, which I see less of on other blogs generally.

      Like

  6. Love the pic of Ireland – very cool! I’d love to go there one day. Also loved your camera’s name, Jeff! Haha! Wouldn’t mind seeing more photography on your posts! I love photography! I just wish I was better at it lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! I hope you get the chance to go to Ireland, it’s one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. Photography is so fun!! Honestly though I just point and shoot a trillion photos wherever I go and then only a few come out nice, lol. But I do want to try including more on my blog!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The Liebster Award #2 ! – Diary of a Bookfiend

  8. Pingback: July Wrap Up! | Lost: Purple Quill

  9. Pingback: July Wrap Up | Lost: Purple Quill

Leave a comment