The Raven Cycle Book Tag

ravencycle__span

I recently realized I’ve just passed the 1 year anniversary of this blog becoming a book blog on September 12, when I posted my review of The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, effectively transforming this blog into a book blog because I needed a place to talk about it. It’s a terrible review, don’t go read it (I’m serious, I knew nothing about writing reviews). This series also rekindled my love of reading after college burned me out, and led me back to the book world :’)

Even a year later my love of The Raven Cycle lives on strong, and when I saw this tag on Jenna’s, Bookmark Your Thoughts, blog, I had to do it. Go check out her blog if you haven’t!

The creator of this fun tag is Inside My Library Mind! Check out her original post if you’d like to use her graphics! (I didn’t because I’m lazy…)

The Rules

  • Mention the creator in your post.
  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • If you want to use the creator’s graphics (check the link to her blog), just make sure to give credit!
  • Be sure to include the rules in your post.
  • Tag more people so we can all enjoy it!
  • And most importantly… HAVE FUN!

Blue Sargent: Your Favorite Quirky Character

“Blue was a fanciful, but sensible thing. Like a platypus, or one of those sandwiches that had been cut into circles for a fancy tea party.”

First off, love that Blue quote.

I have go with Winter from The Lunar Chronicles. I love her quirks (even if they’re a little sad sometimes) and her whimsy and her wry sense of humor. And I love the way she speaks, it’s so distinctive. She’s one of my all time favorites.

Gansey: A Leader

“Gansey was just a guy with a lot of stuff and a hole inside him that chewed away more of his heart every year.”

But…Gansey is one of my favorite leaders…

OTHER than him, Kaz Brekker immediately comes to mind. I mean, I’d rather be under his leadership than on the opposing side, that’s for sure. And I love Kaz’s deadly, and deadly clever, schemes and plans.

Ronan Lynch: Your Favorite Character of All Time

“I am being perfectly fucking civil.”

How appropriate my answer to the Ronan question is Adam Parrish. I love Adam…………….so much.

Adam Parrish: A Character You Disliked at First but Love Now

“If you combined these two things – the unfathomable and the practical – you were most of the way to understanding Adam Parrish.”

Ummmm what do you mean disliked at first??? I liked Adam the instant I met him, all withery and sepia photograph-esque. 😉

Anyway, I’m going to have to go with Carswell Thorne from The Lunar Chronicles on this one. He annoyed the heck out of me at first when we met him in Scarlet. I was like NO Cinder, do not take this guy with you!! And then she did and he made me laugh and I grew to love him with all my heart, so.

ALSO I must say Lib from The Wonder by Emma Donoghue. She annoyed me so much and yet the deeper I got into the book, she slowly became one of my favorite characters. I love Lib. She’s more of the Adam Parrish vein, too.

Noah: The Most Lovable Character

“Depending on where you began the story, it was about Noah.”

(I’m sorry I couldn’t repost this question in its entirety because…spoilers for those who haven’t read)

My dearest Wylan Van Eck. So sweet and stubborn and good. I loved him very much very quickly.

The Women of 300 Fox Way: Your Favorite Female Role Model

“You could ask anyone: 300 Fox Way, Henrietta, Virginia, was the place to go for the spiritual, the unseen, the mysterious, and the yet-to-occur. ”

Lina’s mother in Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys always comes to mind when I think of women in books who I WISH I could be as strong as. And I’m not finished with this book yet, but I ADORE Catherine from The Heart’s Invisible Furies by John Boyne, I want to be as bold as her.

The Search for Glendower: A Book Series You Wish Had Never or Will Never End

“He was everything Gansey wished he could be: wise and brave, sure of his path, touched by the supernatural, respected by all, survived by his legacy.”

Lol The Raven Cycle. I guess I’m in luck with the Dreamer Trilogy coming.

Mr. Gray: An Anti-Hero

“There aren’t terrible ideas. Just ideas done terribly.”

Is Andrew Minyard from The Foxhole Court series a little too much for this question? It feels like a bit of a stretch but he’s so awful and great and I love him.

Psychics and Tarot Cards: Your Favorite Magic System

“It was impossible to forget that all of these women were plugged into the past and tapped into the future, connected to everything in the world and to one another.”

Harry Potter for sure.

Kavinsky: Your Favorite Unlikable Character

“Reality’s what other people dream for you.” 

Again….I want to say Kavinsky…..he made me so mad but I loved his part in The Raven Cycle so much. Also all the characters in The Secret History. 

And again I’m not finished with this book, but I also really want to say Julian from The Hearts Invisible Furies. Maybe he becomes likable and I’m jumping the gun, but…he aggravates me so much and yet his character’s dry humor is hilarious and I kind of like him anyway. Idk. I should finish this book before I answer this.

Cabeswater: Your Favorite Book Setting

“Cabeswater was such a good listener.”

Basically anywhere in the wizarding world in Harry Potter. Sorry for these repetitive answers but I don’t make the rules my heart does.


I TAG:

Some people I know who’ve enjoyed the Raven Cycle:

Chelsea

Birdie

Lauren

Holly

Shanah

And you if you love the Raven Cycle!

 

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “The Raven Cycle Book Tag

    • Please do!! I considered tagging you but I wasn’t sure since I know you just finished this book and the tag contains characters from books later in the series. Not that you actually need to know who they to answer the prompts, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am LOVING this tag! I was so excited when I got the notification! I have so much to say! (It’s exclamation point city!)

    First, Kaz Brekker was a great choice for The Leader. He was definitely not your usual hero but I loved how in his own way he took care of the group. And he was just so clever! Also, I LOVE that Ronan Quote. It really hits on his personality perfectly. It’s going to be hard not answering these questions with characters from Raven Cycle.And finally, dude, Andrew is the perfect character for ‘anti-hero’. He was definitely the reluctant rescuer for both Keven and Neil. Loooved that answer. I think it was my favorite of all your selections. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • HAHA I was hoping you’d weigh in on my Andrew answer!! I was like, Andrew is so anti-hero he’d probably punch someone for calling him an anti-hero. But the fact that he’ll murder someone for hurting those he cares about while acting like they’re the biggest inconvenience in the world is…the best hahah. I also thought Kaz was a good anti-hero too, but I wanted him for the leader question.

      Like

      • Kaz is a great pick for an anti-hero, but there’s something that’s so different about Andrew. He’s more than a reluctant hero, because he is just so… bad, lmao. He’s not going to ‘hero’ for just anyone. Which almost makes him more interesting!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kaz almost seems straight up heroic when compared to Andrew lol. It definitely says something that I’d feel far less afraid of turning to Kaz for help than Andrew, hahahah. At least with Kaz I’d feel like I’d find some sort of way to persuade him, while Andrew never expects anything in return.

        Like

      • Hahaha, right. Kaz became who he was because he cares too much. It’s vengence. Andrew… whatever was left inside him went to Neil and that’s it. He’s empty. Which is crazy, since he’s now one of my all time favorite characters.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I AGREE ABOUT JULIAN he is horrible and I love him??? Also I initially missed the part where you were like ‘all of the characters in The Secret History’ and before I saw that I was going to comment and be like, ‘also all of the characters in The Secret History.’

    Liked by 1 person

    • LIKE HE’S NOT GETTING ANY BETTER and yet for some reason my heart has warmed to him the farther I get into THIF?? I don’t even know why?? He’s had a lot of character development though, which has been kind of subtle but it’s very much there and I’m really enjoying it.

      LOL I was just going to say Charles at first, but then I was like why am I choosing one of them when all of them are terrible? hahah

      Liked by 1 person

      • HE’S SO HORRIBLE but I am charmed by his joie de vivre??? Like I absolutely understand Cyril’s attraction to him which makes the book a much better experience than if I were like ‘UGH, GO AWAY JULIAN’ the whole time. John Boyne is SO GOOD at getting you invested in these unlikable characters.

        Francis is my favorite trash son and I have to always remind myself that he is a problematic fave. Like all of them are SO TERRIBLE but so great???

        Liked by 1 person

      • The second he started flirting with Maude at AGE SEVEN I knew he was going to be gold, ahahah. And I knew he was going to cause so much heartache for Cyril D:

        I know right?? I’m always the most inclined to say Camilla in particular isn’t that bad but….SHE WAS. THEY ALL WERE.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The How I Choose My Books Tag

  4. This looks like such a fun tag, thanks for including me! Seriously who are these bizarre people who didn’t immediately love Adam Parrish?! What is wrong with them?!? Adam is definitely my favourite character from The Raven Cycle and on the short list of my favourite fictional characters of all-time as well.

    Totally agree, I love Catherine and how bold she is! And Julian is somehow so likable despite being such an ass?! I shouldn’t like him but I do.

    Wylan and Kaz are both great answers for their specific questions too. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adam definitely frustrated me at times but I never disliked him. I don’t think I disliked any of them. ACTUALLY Noah was weird at first and he kind of rubbed me the wrong way…but he grew on me very quickly especially when we found out why he was so strange! I love Noah so much now.

      Having read the whole book now, I can definitely say that even though Julian was never wholly likable I LOVE him as a character and I feel a strange affection for him. His ending hurt me so much 😦 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think that’s a good way of putting it. I understood where Adam was coming from and why he was the way he was, but it was still frustrating and painful to watch him go it alone when it didn’t have to. That’s why the courtroom scene made me tear up, and I had to put the book down and breath for a few minutes!

        Totally agree on Julian – I LOVE him as a character too in spite or, or because of, his imperfections. His ending was definitely sad to read about, although I’m glad he reconciled with Cyril at least!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know right! Adam’s happiness was SUCH a payoff after all we had to see him suffer through. I just love his arc so much :’)

        YES I loved Julian’s ending!! It was heartbreaking and awful but…..it was so well done. I loved how he was simultaneously still so angry at Cyril yet didn’t want him to leave 😦 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: September Wrap Up | Lost: Purple Quill

  6. Pingback: The Raven Cycle Book Tag – Birdie Bookworm

  7. Pingback: The Raven Cycle Book Tag | Spotlight on Stories

Leave a comment